What Shall I Have For Breakfast Today?

by Anna

Ah, another quiet Sunday that I am off work. But today I awoke half-heartedly at 7am with a rather insistent feeling of hunger. However, my eyes really didn’t want to open just yet, nor were my limbs particularly interested in engaging in any major activities.

After tossing and turning for another hour I finally gave in, thinking that I could be much more productive by pulling myself together and getting up and going instead of wasting time rolling from one side of the bed to the other. My hungry self finally convinced me that it was about time to enter the kitchen arena for some much needed fuel. Sleepily gazing into the cupboards and fridge I found nothing I fancied. And I really didn’t want yet another lazy banana milkshake, despite all the trimmings and possibilities open to the experienced DIY foodist that tries to avoid certain ingredients due to intolerances.

What did I fancy? Something more substantial than a shake, but common bread is not an option! Remember, it will make you feel slightly ill. Not worth it. Pitty that all my homemade bread had gone already, have to make more soon.

Suddenly I remembered a friend’s breakfast which consisted of a raw chocolate cake she had made which I terribly enjoyed together with a banana and some nut milk. With that in mind there was no stopping me and I mixed together my own raw chocolate breakfast cake with random wholesome ingredients that I found in the cupboards.

E voila, fantastic! It tasted just like chocolate flavoured cereals from the supermarket, just that little bit better. And the grand thing is that it is completely free from the common sugars and additives and full of natural flavours and ingredients. I added some crunchy honey granola oats (also free from the above) and a banana. I topped it with soya milk which the chocolate cake turned into a oh-so-gorgeous chocolate flavoured indulgence that I couldn’t help but smile all the way through while I was eating.

Listen up everyone, here is the recipe:

1 cup ground oats
1 cup ground almonds
1/2 cup ground sesame seeds
1/4 cup raw cacao powder
1/3 cup agave nectar
2-3 tbsp maca powder
2-3 tbsp melted coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla essence
Dash of cinnamon
Pinch of salt

Mix it all together (it really doesn’t matter if you haven’t got some of the ingredients!) and either eat some straight away in crumbled form or squash it into a medium size container, depending on how thick you want the layer to be, and store it in the fridge.

Now, I also had recently purchased raw cacao paste, which I had seen as a listed ingredient on raw chocolate wrappers and was curious how I could incorporate it into my raw chocolate experiments. So while I was mixing together the cake, I simply put small pieces of the cacao paste (which was actually a big lump of rock hard cacao instead of the more liquid assumption of paste) into a cup and placed it into a container with hot water from the tap.

After a few minutes it began to melt and turned into the assumed paste. I was wondering if it was the byproduct of the cold pressed extraction of the cacao butter from the cacao powder and whether I could make raw chocolate out of it. So I also threw in a few tablespoons of raw coconut oil and agave nectar, added a little bit cinnamon, vanilla essence and the good old pinch of salt to enhance the flavour. Once it was all melted and tasted exquisitely beautiful, I poured it over the cake and put it into the fridge to settle.

It turns out that it doesn’t replace the cacao butter, which makes the raw chocolate firm to the bite. Raw cacao paste is essentially simply the original cacao bean turned into nibs (broken into pieces) and ground into a smooth paste. So far, my raw chocolate made with cacao butter and cacao powder usually hardens the minute it comes into contact with anything colder than the liquid chocolate. So the next time I use cacao paste to make ordinary raw chocolate, I may add some raw cacao butter as well.

And I just found this blog which beautifully explains my questions: http://bestsuperfoods.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/cacao-powder-versus-cacao-paste

Now then, it is 10am now and compared to last week, where I only fell out of bed at this time, I have already created, consumed and blogged about my Raw Chocolate Breakfast Cake.

Love it 🙂
Anna

