What the heck is Spirituality?

by Anna

I strongly feel I need to distance myself from any religious background.
This is a strong statement and I don’t mean to override other’s beliefs and opinions with this.

My decision to break with the “institution church” came upon me when I was 14 and was just about to receive my holy communion. I felt misunderstood by my religious education teacher and knew for a fact that I had experienced outer worldly phenomena that did not correspond with what I was told in Sunday’s service (I only went because of the communion anyway). I was the only one in a group of 30 who decided against receiving the holy communion.

It may or may not be a young age to make major life decisions, but for me it was the first moment where I consciously  followed my inner self or “gut feeling”. I also requested to change school at that time, for reasons I won’t go into detail here and now.

Two years prior to that event I was set up on a journey (by means I can’t explain rationally) which took me to the wonders of the “unseen world”. There was a lot of curiosity but also fear there to begin with but I kept reading every book that fell into my hands and experimented and learned and finally, about 15 years later, I am nearly there. “There” is the place, that inner space, where it doesn’t matter what other’s think or what you think others might think, but where I feel accepted for who I am and what I believe in. There is still much to learn.

So, what do I believe in?

I don’t like to follow what other’s say. Too much blood has been shed in “the name of God” that I could justify to follow anyone’s belief and under no circumstances do I want you to follow my belief! No offence, but I think the world would be a much better place if we would all dwell in our own little space of belief and accept whatever the person next to us believes to be true to them.

We all have been equipped with a higher self and an inner self which, when fine tuned, are all we need to feel connected to something and to develop (or even “download”, in terms of the 21st century) a purpose in life that we can follow and grow on.

Do I say that those who duly flock together each Sunday to confess their sins in holy unison with God have lost the connection to themselves, or is that too offensive? What is it, I wonder, that another person can tell them to be true instead of just listening to their very own truth within themselves? And why do I get so upset about it?

Because I care. I care more about others than I care about myself, which is psychologically definitely an issue that ought to be addressed at some point. But the reason why I care is because I know the potential that lies in each of us if only we give it the attention and the chance to develop. And sadly I also know the potential danger of belief as an institution and the devastating effect it can have on the world and it’s people.

Sometimes the world doesn’t make any sense and sometimes we don’t feel like we make any sense and that’s the moment where you have to take charge of yourself and begin to figure out what your personal tailor-made purpose is in this life instead of just running after someone else’s ideal like lemmings jumping off the cliff.

And what was Spirituality again? According to the Oxford Dictionary: “relating to or affecting the human spirit or soul as opposed to material or physical things”. Not to be mistaken for Spiritualism: ” system of belief or religious practice based on supposed communication with the spirits of the dead, especially through mediums”. And a far throw from Religion:”the belief in and worship of a superhuman controlling power, especially a personal God or gods”.

What are words anyway?

Love
Anna

